Voters will set the course for the next several years Tuesday, which marks election day for many municipal, school and park boards across the Tri-County Area.

When can I vote?

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Vote at your regular polling place, which is listed on your voter registration card. Locations are also available on your county voting authority's website.

What will turnout be?

Generally speaking, turnout is lower for municipal elections than statewide or presidential contests. But it's trending higher than in past years.

For instance, Peoria County saw 16.8 percent voter turnout two years ago, but may crack 20 percent this year, county Election Commission Executive Director Tom Bride said.

In that 2017 election there were 1,750 people voting early, but already this year some 2,600 have cast ballots in Peoria County. Vote by mail balloting is also up, with roughly 1,150 ballots already returned there and another 550 that could be counted if they're sent in and postmarked by Tuesday. Only 960 were returned in 2017.

When will results be in?

First results are usually available 20 to 30 minutes after polls close at 7 p.m., and will be updated continuously throughout the evening at

Top races to watch

Peoria City Council

The field for five at-large seats on Peoria's City Council was already narrowed to 10 candidates in a primary at the end of February.

Voters will choose between Rita Ali, Beth Jensen, Sid Ruckriegel, Zach Oyler, Andre Allen, John Kelly, Peter Kobak, Beth Akeson, Branden Martin and Aaron Chess Jr. Full interviews with each candidate can be found online at

The Peoria council race is the only one to use cumulative voting — sometimes also called "bullet" voting. Voters each have five votes and may distribute them among between one and five candidates, meaning selecting just one candidate gives them all five votes. Selecting two candidates gives 2.5 votes to each individual. Choosing three candidates gives each 1.66 votes. And so on.

City of Pekin

Mayor John McCabe is seeking re-election against challenger Mark Luft. And five people — John Abel, Rick Hilst, Karen Hohimer, David Nutter and Matthew Tucker — are seeking three seats on the City Council.

City of East Peoria

Two current members of the City Council, Tim Jeffers and John Kahl, are vying to replace retiring Mayor Dave Mingus in a race that has turned contentious.

And the council will have many new faces. Only incumbent Dan Decker is seeking re-election to the four-member council, and Norm Sales, Stephen Matheny, Mark Hill, Rocio Matthews, Michael Sutherland and Seth Mingus are seeking election.

School boards

Peoria Public Schools residents in the northern district, roughly north of Forrest Hill Avenue, will select between incumbent Ernestine Jackson and challenge Chase Klaus for a five-year term.

Dunlap School District residents will select four board members from a field of 10 candidates: Bryan Zowin, Theresa Holshouser, Mike Wisdom, Vaibhav Shah, Tom Feldman, Amy Weaver, Ann Henry, James Hollenback, Tim Wagenbach and Amanda Jo Tomblin. Some geographic restrictions apply between those living in incorporated and unincorporated areas, so the top four vote-getters will not necessarily be the victors.

Morton School District residents will choose three board members from a field of four: Kimberly Larrabee, Shad Beaty, Tim Braker and Jeff Schmidgall. The same issue between incorporated and unincorporated areas applies there.


Tazewell County residents will again be asked whether they support raising the sales tax by 1 percentage point to fund school facilities.

Metamora residents will decide whether to move to nonpartisan elections in the community.

Limestone Township High School District voters will be asked whether to increase the district's tax rate.